Getty Images / iTunes
Facebook is pushing users to download their new app Moments
If users don’t want to lose their synced photos then they will have to download Facebook’s new photo sharing app, Moments, by July 7. Facebook is set to delete thousands of photos from the social network, with users on the iOS and Android apps no longer able to access their synced albums.
This aggressive move to get people downloading another of its apps has already seen Moments climb on the iTunes App Store, but not everyone is happy that they been left without an option.
The photo syncing feature allowed people to automatically upload all their photos from their smartphone to a private album.
Storing photos in this way made it easier to share photos with friends and enabled people to upload photos quickly to the social network.
However, since Moments has been on the scene, Facebook has slowly been phasing this feature out of its main app.
Back in January, Facebook notified users that photo syncing would no longer be available. And now the company has been messaging users, notifying them that if they don’t transfer their photos across, they will be deleted.
Facebook is forcing EVERYONE to download its Messenger app if they want to chat privately with friends
It’s important to note that this won’t affect any synced photos or videos that have been shared on Facebook. All photo archives that have been uploaded to the social networking site are safe and will remain as they are.
Facebook has used this forced adoption tactic in the past. The social network pushed users to download Messenger by removing the chat feature from its main app back in 2014.
The result saw Messenger become one of the top apps in the App Store – a success they are no doubt wanting to replicate with Moments. However some people felt annoyed that they were forced to install Messenger, when it worked perfectly well through Facebook’s main app.
No doubt people will once again feel that they are being pushed to download another of its apps.
Moments lets you organise and privately share photos with friends. The free iOS and Android app is designed to help collect and sort photos after a big event such as a holiday or wedding.
To transfer your synced albums from your Facebook app to Moments, you need to download the app and login before the July 7.
- Facebook gives users a new way to react to posts – and it doesn’t involve emojis